Rockin’ Mama Interviews: Laura from My Rebel Family

Rockin' Mama Interview

Since starting this Interview series to showcase some Rockin’ Mamas and how they juggle the immense struggles, and joys, of Motherhood, the pressure of being an entrepreneur and finding time for themselves, I have learnt an awful lot and been taken on some truly incredible journeys from women that are indeed rockin’ Mamahood! Today I have an interview with Laura Palin, the owner at My Rebel Family; a lush little clothing brand that caters for both Mother and bubba with edgy and unique designs. Laura has retained true to her self-identity after Motherhood through creating a business where she can express her creativity and fashion sense! 

20170708_124707
1. Tell us a little about you and your family. 
I am 28, I live in Nottingham with my other half Chris who I’ve been with 6 years, my daughter Isabella Rose Beardmore who is 6.5 months old, 2 gekko’s and a pacman frog. In-between being a mum and running a business I love photography and going to vintage fairs.
2. What does Motherhood mean to you?
This is a great question because at first I wasn’t sure what it meant as I have never been the mothering maternal type, but as soon as I saw my baby girl for the first time the instant love and mothering and protective instinct came over me. To me motherhood is about the unbreakable bond between mother and baby, and growing and learning with each other.
3. What struggles have you faced as Mama and how have you overcome that?
At first it was a shock as I have worked all my adult life and I have never been around children or babies, so learning how to change nappies, make bottles and get used to all the practical challenges of motherhood were difficult.
Also the severe lack of sleep! is like getting hit by a bus but this gets better as she got older (thank god).
I would say the biggest struggle was getting used to not going out of the house and seeing people everyday, this was quite difficult at first. But now I make sure I leave the house everyday if only for a short walk and I have joined various online mum social groups including punkymomsuk which is a facebook group for like minded punky mums, they are very supportive and kind.
I think its also very important to not lose touch with friends and family and make as much time for yourself as possible.
4. Do you find time to relax and remember YOU?
Yes I think this is very important! Luckily I do have a very loving and supportive partner who helps in the evenings and takes our daughter out for the day on the occasional Saturday so I can relax and catch up with friends. Admittedly I do spend most of my free time building my business but I will make sure I don’t over do it and I get plenty of rest.
5. Tell us about your incredible business: My Rebel Family
My business is called My Rebel Family and I create unique, bold and edgy designs for mum and baby wear on Etsy. I sell babygrows, baby tee’s and women’s tee’s, a Dad collection will be realised soon as well.
love mum & dad
20170627_143811
My designs are unique, fun and slightly alternative. I create gothic, punky, bohemian, funny, colourful, ska, simplistic, rocker, metal, LGBTQ, rockabilly, pin up, and tattoo inspired designs for ages 0-18 months and women’s UK sizes 8-18.
6. What first inspired you to start My Rebel Family?
I was inspired to start My Rebel Family as since becoming a mum in 2017 I really wanted to retain my style which is quite unique but also express my love for my daughter, and whilst searching for clothing for my daughter I could not find many alternative & unique baby clothes which were also affordable, so I thought why not create my own!.
I thought this would be a great opportunity to express my creativity, stay busy and also a good way to connect with other mums who also have a unique style and who are running their own business.
rockabye pink
babydoll white
7. Do you have any tips on balancing Mamahood, your career and YOU?
I think the key is to really prioritise on what is important.
I focus all my love and attention on my daughter when she is awake and work on building my business when she is asleep and I make sure I rest plenty especially during the weekend.
Its also very important not to forget your other half as you must remember you are still a couple and need quality time together. Usually every friday & saturday after Isabella has gone to bed I will put my phone away (only check it every now and then for orders) and we will order a takeaway or make a nice homemade meal, watch a film  and enjoy each others company.
8. Do you have a favourite inspirational quote or phrase to share with our readers?

“Don’t chase people. Be yourself, do your own thing and work hard. The right people – the ones who really belong in your life – will come to you. And stay.”

You can find Laura and her amazing clothing at the following sites and social media outlets:

 

I hope you have enjoyed reading all about this rockin’ Mama and found inspiration to rock up your own Mama lifestyle. If you wish to take part in this series please pop me an email to rockandrosesmama@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

