Rockin’ Mama Interviews: Sophia from Tattooed Tealady

Rockin' Mama Interview

As part of my quest to inspire Mamas to realise their potential to rock Mamahood whilst still being able to retain their own self identity and individuality, I started an interview series where I share the stories of fellow ‘Rockin’ Mamas’. I have been lucky enough to interview amazing Mama bloggers too like Honest Mum and Lauren from Dilan and Me and today I am sharing with you another truly inspirational Mama blogger who has turned her love for lipstick into a career; Sophia aka Tattooed Tealady. 

Rocking Mama Interviews Tattooed Tealady

  1. Tell us a little about you and your family
  • Hey everyone, I’m Sophia and I’m super excited to be taking part in Rebecca’s Rockin’ Mamas Clan series! I live in Leicestershire with my little family; my partner and I have been together for 5.5 years now and we have a 17 month old girl, Willow.

 

2. What does Motherhood mean to you?

  • I’ve always wanted children, but I don’t think I ever understood what it means to be a Mother until I had Willow. To me, Motherhood means having the privilege to help my little girl grow up to be the best person she can be. It means being there for all the normal parenting stuff, like changing nappies and cleaning up messy dinner times with trips to the park and days out on a budget, but it also means helping to show her the beautiful world we live in, teaching her about all the wonderful different cultures and people we have and helping her to be the most accepting person she can be. To me, Motherhood means responsibility, it means dedication and patience, and of course, pure and all-consuming love for my little girl.

 

3. What struggles have you faced as a Mama and how have you overcome that?

  • We have been incredibly lucky in the sense that Willow is a very easy going baby; she doesn’t cry unless she’s poorly or very overtired, she sleeps well, eats well, interacts well with other children and loves meeting new people, but I’ve still had some mountains to climb in my own journey.

    I struggled with breastfeeding and found myself in a downward spiral to postnatal depression within weeks of having her. I think a combination of not producing milk (only one breast was producing, whilst the other was officially out of use) and the emotional disconnect I felt after having an emergency caesarean, left me feeling a little bit zoned out and not really *there* for the first few months of her life. In the end we had to go onto formula as the little milk production I did have completely dried up and my anxiety was found to be making things worse; midwives and health visitors had to beg me to consider formula as they could see what a really bad place I was in mentally, through guilt of not being able to breastfeed. Looking back, I was a bit of a mess. I’d shake constantly all day and I was so on edge, the slightest noise would have me jumping out of my skin.

    I’ve only recently, over a year on, found myself making my way out of postnatal depression, which was something I knew I would be of risk of due to my mental health history. I never let my postnatal depression affect my parenting; Willow will always come first, but it did leave me feeling like a shell for over a year and I think the only thing that helped me overcome PND was finally letting go of the guilt I felt over not being able to breastfeed.

Tattooed Tealady Rockin' Mamas Clan

 

4. Do you find time to relax and remember you?

  • I don’t get half as much time to myself as I’d like, but that’s because as well as being a ‘stay at home’ mama with Willow home with me everyday, but I also have two jobs, both of which I do from home, so I always have *something* to do and will spend any free time I do have ticking off my to-do list rather than putting myself first.
    When I do get time to myself, usually blog work related days out, I like to go for meals with friends or do a spot of shopping. At home, reading is my sanctuary and I read every night before bed. It’s not much, but we don’t have anyone around us who can ‘babysit’ and so we’re pretty limited as to what we can do, as everything involves bringing Willow with us. When she’s a little bit older and confident with sleeping over at someone else’s (read: when I’m ready to let her sleep somewhere overnight!), we’ll be going back to Download festival again and hopefully getting a few gigs in too!

5. Tell us about your incredible blog Tattooed Tealady

  • Tattooed Tealady is my little space online which I’ve managed to turn from a hobby, into a job! I write a real mix of topics, focusing on beauty and parenting (I also blogged my pregnancy with Willow!) alongside some foody bits and lifestyle features like days out, our recent (and very first!) family holiday and the odd book feature here or there. I guess I just write whatever takes my fancy, and I really love keeping the content varied! It feels amazing to have started out as this little online blog where I shared my favourite lipstick, to something which has become a job and afford my little family so many amazing memories; I feel very, very lucky.

 

6. What first inspired you to start Tattooed Tealady?

  • A friend inspired me to start writing Tattooed Tealady, what originally started as just a beauty blog. The friend who suggested starting a blog thought it would be a good place to write about my love for beauty (and stop bombarding her with messages about my favourite products!) and so it began, all the way back in April 2012.

 

7. Do you have any tips on balancing Mamahood, your career and YOU?

  • My life and work balance is a total juggling act but one thing that does help keep me in order (a little bit, I’m generally a mess ha!), is using planners. Personally, I am an absolute sucker for the Erin Condren Life Planner but any planner or diary will do! You can plan your week/month ahead, keep on top of your to-do lists, jot down any ideas and keep important dates in mind. I think our lives would be a complete disaster if I wasn’t so into planning!

 

8. Do you have a favourite inspirational quote or phrase to share with our readers?

  • It’s probably a cliche now, as so many people use them, but I have two quotes which speak to me the most. The first, is “This too shall pass”, a Buddhist quote that helps me get through some seriously dark times! The second is a mama-related quote, “You’ve got this!”, because sometimes, we all need reminding that we are totalling bossing mamahood!

 

Huge thanks to Rebecca for having me, I’ve really enjoyed sharing my thoughts and musings for the Rockin’ Mamas Clan series! If you want to keep up to date with Tattooed Tealady goings on, you can find me at http://www.tattooedtealady.com and across all social media as @TattooedTealady!

I hope you have enjoyed reading all about this rockin’ Mama and found inspiration to rock up your own Mama lifestyle. If you wish to take part in this series please pop me an email to rockandrosesmama@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

