Bad-Moms-Film

Movies to make you happy: You’ve got this Mama

Culture, Top Rockin' Tips

All Mamas need a boost from time to time and these Movies are bound to make you happy! There are times when the crazy world of parenting just gets too much and it all comes tumbling down on top of us; when these moments strike I find a good movie can be the best cure (accompanied by copious amounts of ice cream and wine of course!) So after the kids are in bed, or napping, take some time out to chill and get lost in these uplifting and power fist worthy cinematic beauties. 

Movies To Make You Happy

If you are really in need of a de-stress or a lift then my other posts, ’11 Ways to Deal With Stress’ and ‘Top Tips to Help You Banish Mom Guilt’ will be really helpful. Please have a read if you need a light at the end of the tunnel or just a good ol’ virtual hug!

So.. without further ado… here are my 10 movies that never fail to put a smile on my face and make me think “YOU GOT THIS” (obligatory power fist moment)

  1. Bad Moms

I posted a review of this when I went to see it at the cinema on my first Mom Date because I fell in love with this film! This is the ultimate pick me up film for Moms specifically as deals with how every Mother feels like a bas Mom in many ways but it unites us all in that we are all muddling through it together and we are all doing amazing jobs!

Bad-Moms-Film

It is also hilarious! So hilarious!

If you want to read more about it before you see it have a read of my full review in ‘Mom Date with Bad Moms’

2. Bridget Jones

Ok so this is a no brainer as Renee Zellweger is a clear favourite in lifting our spirits as Brigdet Jones; a seemingly hopeless in love, 30 year old, struggling career woman that hilariously and beautifully turns it all around (and has some fun not the way!)

BJD-1

It is so funny and so adorable; a completely amazing film that leaves you with that warm fuzzy feeling every time!

If you haven’t seen this the you need to immediately view, like now! Go go go!

3. Bridget Jones: The Edge Of Reason

Here she is again, the undeniably relatable Bridge jones comes back for more hilarity and romance! All the feels.

4. Bridget Jones’ Baby

Ok so i think you know where I’m going with this… although this one sees the most relatable content to Mamas as Bridget gets herself in a tricky spot in pregnancy and we follow her chortle worthy yet awe inducing journey!

160915_MOV_bridget-jones-baby.jpg.CROP.promo-xlarge2

5. The Devil Wears Prada

For all of the Mamas struggling to follow their dream, those who are thinking of going up on their passions or just the fashionistas out there, this one is for you! I love how it makes me feel so inspired and driven to succeed in my endeavours and never to give up!

Also there are some pretty funny moments thrown in there too!

6. Happy Go Lucky

Now this is a film that not very many people have heard of I find but it does what it says on the tin! It makes me feel like I want to be like the main character, Poppy and let loose a little more! She is totally herself and at one with who she is; which includes her amazingly bright fashion sense!

0075_0004_IMG_FIX_700x700

It is a really uplifting and inspirational film, it is always my go to to make me feel happy go lucky!

7. Little Miss Sunshine

Again, a bit of an unknown one but so great! It is one for the whole family as it follows a family and one particularly determined little girl in her determination to follow her dreams.

Hilarity and tear jerking happy moments galore.

A reminder for all of us I think!

8. Matilda

A childhood favourite for sure! Again, a determined little girl follows her true identity with some serious confidence, sass and childish innocence.

The soundtrack will get you moving too; some real feel good classics in there!

9. The Sweetest Thing

diaz13-600x400

I was never a fan of the rom-com genre growing up… that is until I watched this movie. It proved to me that romantic comedies CAN be funny and confidence boosting instead of just being gushy and emotional!

Cameron Diaz shines in any role she has but this one in particular really makes you feel great to be a woman, the importance of your tribe and pushes you to realise your true identity and your friendships!

So much sass. ALL the sass!

10. Love Actually

So I know what you’re thinking… “this ones a Christmas Movie?”. Yes, affirmative, you may be correct however it also is a heartwarming classic.

It is by far one of the most uplifting films to watch in times of need; the many lives it follows are all in times of need and all have flourished and found beauty in life by the end of the film.

love-actually-50581

One of my favourite Christmas films AND feel-good films for sure.

(Minus Kiera Knightley being by arch enemy… I just can’t get over the pouty lips… really makes e cringe! I realise that is her face… but its not my favourite view… apologies to any die hard Kiera Knightley fans!)

Grab a beverage, some snacks and sink in to these amazingly uplifting and feel good films Mama… you deserve to feel GREAT and EMPOWERED!

Do you have any films that are your ‘go to’ when you’re feeling low? Do you know anyone that might benefit from a little lift? 

 

Mummuddlingthrough
21 thoughts on “Movies to make you happy: You’ve got this Mama

  1. One film i’d recommend highly is The Intern. As a woman it made me so happy I cried. It is just wonderful to see a film that is supportive and celebratory of women getting s%*t done! And the character is a working mum on top! x #coolmumclub

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I cannot believe that Matilda is the only one on this list that I have seen! I need to have some girlfriends over for wine and movies soon.
    Thanks for the suggestions. 🙂
    #stayclassymama

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love Actually may be my favorite movie ever, and Bad Moms was so good I couldn’t stop laughing the whole time! There are a couple here I haven’t seen. I’ll need to check them out! #coolmumclub

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

