The struggles of a working Mom

Musings

As you may know if you follow my blog, I run Rock and Roses Mama alongside working part time in Retail Management; I know a lot of Mothers strive for this balance but believe me the struggles of a woking Mom are harsh… My ‘working Mother’ story is a little long winded so today I am sharing it with you in the hope that it will inspire other Mothers to share their story and provide clarity in the Mothering community. 

The Struggles Of A Working Mom

When I was pregnant I was determined NOT to be one of (what I perceived at the time as) a ‘benefit Mom’ that doesn’t work and purely lives on money received in benefits from the government taken from workers taxes (I realise I am treading on eggshells on a very touchy topic and if you read on you will see how my opinions shifted…)

If you are interested in the seemingly confused and opposing views on working Mothers vs Stay at home mothers you can read about how society needs to take a stand either way in ‘Working Mom vs Stay at home Mom: Could society decide already?’ and ‘Is society really built for working Moms?’

As previously mentioned I was determined to return to work and pursue my career in Retail Management and not let Motherhood take away that career driven part of me.

The reality was a little different, however, as I was faced with a demotion due to not wanting to work the 50 hour week I had been doing previously. I wished to work 30-35 hours per week, which unfortunately for me meant being classed as ‘part-time’ and my position was lowered by one rung on the ladder.

It wasn’t ideal.

But as I began working I realised, slowly, that in actual fact it as nice to have balance between my home life and my working life; working less hours and with slightly less responsibility meant that I could escape from work guilt free at the end of every shift and not let it affect my thoughts while at home.

My relationship with work changed. It no loner meant as much to me; it was a way of providing for my little dude, it was no longer my life.

Slowly, over nearly two years of being back at work and 5 months into starting Rock and Roses Mama with the hopes of pursuing my passion for writing, I started to realise that being in the day job was NOT what I wanted!

There is so much guilt attached to leaving for work, leaving your child; it is inescapable when you pop on your coat and bag and make your way to the door… they give you that look.

“I know what this means… your leaving me again aren’t you” look…

Its heartbreaking.

You feel like the worst human being in the world, even if in the back of your mind you know that you are going to work to earn cold hard cash for your family, to support said small being.

You also fell guilty for wanting time by yourself… being at work is often the only time a lot of mothers get to be something other than ‘Mum’ and it is truly liberating. However you feel a stab of guilt for even considering wanting to be something other than ‘Mum’.

It is a very real struggle and a battle that all working mothers face if they are not in a financial position to be out of work (like me!)

You are not alone.

(If you are struggling with the inescapable ‘Mum Guilt’ then please head over to my post ‘Top tips to help you banish Mom Guilt’ as it has helped a lot of Moms escape the guilt tat plagues us all daily.) 

Do you struggle with the work/life balance as a Mother? Please share your own story and help other mothers in knowing that they are not alone.

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

StayClassyMama-BadgeLP

One Messy Mama
6 thoughts on “The struggles of a working Mom

  1. Working and being a mum is definitely hard. I work 32 hours a week which is more like full-time than part-time if you ask me! My daughter is almost 6 now so I’ve been doing this for a while and it does get much easier. You also feel less guilt as they get older, especially when they start school! #StayClassyMama

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So so hard! Yeah I did these hours and was so surprised they classed me as part time! Thank you for your comment I really hope it does get easier but then I suppose the guilt shifts to something more related to their age! ❤

      Like

  2. I have been on both sides of this issue, and it’s tough all around. Yes, there is guilt in leaving. There is guilt in staying home and still wanting to leave. LOL. Motherhood is hard. Period. Kudos to you for still bringing in some bank while rocking at the mom thing too! Not making money to contribute… also guilt! LOL.
    #stayclassmama

    Liked by 1 person

      1. We unexpectedly lost our sitter and sitters are so stinking expensive. I wasn’t making much more than we were paying out. It hasn’t been easy and sacrifices
        Are definitely being made to make
        It work the best it can. And I try to do jobs from
        Home… with some success. Lol. That’s a whole other crap shoot. Lol.

        Like

  3. YES! I know that look. I just had that look from my son ten minutes ago, now I am on the train to work. It’s really hard especially the first few months back from maternity leave, on top of not sleeping you feel guilty, they should definitely look at how to make this transition easier for mums. I can completely relate, Thanks for much for sharing with #stayclassymama!

    Like

Leave a Reply

