Easy Easter Chocolate Nest Recipe

Rosy Mama Recipes: Easy Easter Chocolate Nests

Rosy Mama Recipes

Now everyone makes these slightly differently but my Easy Easter Chocolate Nests are made with shredded wheat; other options are of course cornflakes or rice crispies, but for the authentic ‘nest’ like appearance I think shredded wheat is best. I also like to top them with the traditional Easter pastel shades of mini eggs; they tend to taste fabulous too (any other mini egg addicts out there? Just me?) This is also a great recipe to get your kids involved with as, honestly, is so easy! 

Easy Easter Chocolate Nest Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 75g Shredded Wheat
  • 250g Chocolate
  • 50g Butter (Please use real butter as I did initially try with margarine and my goodness it did not work!)
  • 2tbs Golden Syrup
  • 1 pack of Mini Eggs (Or any small eggs to be honest!)

Method:

Firstly line a 12 muffin tin with cake cases and set to one side… then grab a large bowl and break up the shredded wheat and put to one side too.

Easy Easter Chocolate Nest Recipe

I can’t reiterate enough how time sensitive the next part is (yes… It did go entirely wrong the first two times and I had to adjust my method… who knew melting chocolate would be so difficult!)

Easy Easter Chocolate Nest Recipe

Easy Easter Chocolate Nest Recipe

Pop the chocolate, butter and golden syrup in a microwavable bowl and pop in the microwave for 30 seconds at a time… keep stirring and repeating this process until you have a smooth mixture.

Easy Easter Chocolate Nest Recipe

Keep a little of this mixture aside for fixing the eggs into the nests later.

I find the easiest way of combining with the shredded wheat is to mix it with your hands.

Pop equal sized lumps into the pre prepared cake cases and make a small well, or nest, into the centre.

That mixture you saved… now would be a good time to grab it and spot a little into the middle of the nests.

Now just add the eggs! I popped three in each one… two just is not enough in my eyes!

Easy Easter Chocolate Nest Recipe

The last step is to refrigerate these beauties for about an hour to set the chocolate.

Voila!

Easy Easter Chocolate Nest Recipe

Easy Easter Chocolate Nest Recipe

Now sit back… make yourself a lovely cup of tea and Enjoy the fruits of your labour!

These are also great to take to Easter lunches… I taking these bad boys to an barbecue tomorrow… I’m pretty sure they’re going to be a hit!

Do you love baking? Have you tried out my other Rosy Mama Recipes including my Foolproof Cupcake RecipeBasic Victoria Sponge Recipe or Basic Sweet Shortbread?

One thought on “Rosy Mama Recipes: Easy Easter Chocolate Nests

Leave a Reply

