Why I am ‘Rocking Motherhood’: tag

Uncategorized

Ive been seeing a lot of Mama bloggers posting their answers to White Camelias‘ #rockingmotherhood tag and I have actually now been tagged in by two fabulous ladies,  Becki from The Mum from Brum and Emma from Emmaology, and can’t wait to share with you all why I think I am rocking Motherhood. It is so important for Mamas to know and be reminded that they are doing an amazing job, it is so easy to be hard on ourselves and feel the dreaded Mom Guilt. But we are all muddling through and doing the very best we can for our gorgeous little people.

rockingmotherhood-1

1. Dealing with a stressful pregnancy.

So yeah I think t is fair to say that my pregnancy was not a simple one; I have not written about this as I have to say I am slightly embarrassed, but not of the way I felt with it; in that sense I rocked! I fell into an unstable, and very short lived, relationship that ended with me becoming accidentally pregnant and having to escape due to psychological abuse and violent behaviour.

I felt a moral obligation to try and let it be known that this man could still be a father to my child but it was near impossible to maintain an amicable and diplomatic relationship and communication broke down. Threats were made, abuse, harassment, police involvement, needless to say my pregnancy was spent mainly with me trying my very best to be strong and stay happy and optimistic for the baby growing inside me relying on me to stay calm.

2. Having Adventures!

Ok so fast forward to now and having my little man is an amazing excuse to go wild and have adventures; we love the outdoors and being at one with nature and I love taking the small man to all the incredible places the world has to offer!

3. DISNEY!

I am an avid Disney fan and I am so proud that the little dude has adopted this love too. I am So excite for the day that he is old enough to take to and appreciate Disneyland!

4. I found my Mama Tribes.

Super important to rocking Mamahood in my opinion. It is hard at first with a newborn but if I knew of all of the amazing support networks out there at the time I would have been SPORTED! Luckily I was strong enough to know I needed to get out there and make Mama friends on my own but now I am part of the amazing world of Mama bloggers and Punky Moms, to name a couple, I feel so much more empowered to rock up my rosy Mama lifestyle and help you to too!

5. Adjusting my career to the needs of my family.

I was always determined to return to work after maternity leave and I did so with knowing I did not want to sacrifice my career (I was a Deputy Store Manager of a leading supermarket chain) but was unfortunately faced with having to drop my title (I am now Duty Manager) due to a need to drop my hours; spending time with my little family became more important to me so working 47.5 hours a week wasn’t entirely enticing!

I have recently actually dropped down even further in hours and only work 3 days a week at 20 hours which suits me perfectly! Let the adventures begin!

6. Determination to not let Motherhood take over who I am.

So this is essentially the reason I started this blog; you can read more about the full story here. I have always thought it so so important to never let having a child take over my own life and passions.

My little man is the most important thing to me and I know that if I am to be the very best role model and mother I can be I must never give up my own passions and dreams. I still do all of the things that I enjoyed before having him and even take him with me to festivals, outings with friends etc. I feel that he will grow to be sociable and well cultured with a role model that can show him how to follow his own passions.

7. Little man has always been an amazing sleeper…

…and I swear that is because I have always been a firm believer in routines. Everyone has always said that he is a great sleeper and ever since he was first born he only woke up once or twice max to be breastfed.

From the age of around 9 months he was sleeping through the night in his own cot bed (he was far too big to stay in his moses basket next to me from 6 months and we were always too scared to co sleep saving rolling onto him!) I have always put this down to having a very relaxing bedtime routine that got him in bedtime mode. I know its a controversial topic but for us, a bedtime routine was amazing and has been perfect for our little man.

8. My son enjoys reading and is better at puzzles than me!

He is super smart, and Im not just saying that because I am his mother! I am aware that there are things that he is not as good at as his peers (Ill talk about that later…) but when it comes to fine motor skills and reading this kid is incredible. I am so proud. We buy him new puzzles weekly as once he has done one just once, thats it… he can do it again and gained in minutes; and were talking 60+ piece puzzles!

He has also always loved stories and we have always felt it important to read him a bedtime story. He now gets so bored with short stories suitable for his age group so we read him longer stories from Hans Christen Anderson anthologies and Beatrix Potter.

Again. So proud.

9.Dealing with the pressure of undergoing tests and extra support for little man and his possible ASD diagnosis.

It is no small feat dealing with the realisation that your child may be autistic and since he was around 1 years of age I saw the tell tale signs.

It was difficult getting these recognised because of his age and we finally now have the support of his nursery, speech and language therapy, paediatricians, our area INCO and Portage. We still don’t have an official diagnosis as he is still so young and they like to rule out any other conditions or a delay that may catch up eventually; it is a huge entity to deal with and that is another reason for me cutting down my hours as I feel it is important to be with my little man more so he has continuity and support from the person who knows him best.

10. Small dude is the most affectionate, loving child…

despite the above my little man is the most caring and affectionate child; a few of our friends have always said he was so chilled as a baby and so loving now as he is in such a chilled and loving household. My now husband and I are quite happy and mellow as people and we have always thought it so super important to bring this across to the small man and it looks like it has worked! He loves cuddles and kisses and knows when your upset and hurt and holds your face… he is just so so loving!

So I now have to pass the tag on… share the rocking Motherhood joy!

Here are the Rules

  1. Thank the blogger that tagged you and link to their blog.
  2. List 10 things you believe make you a good mother (this is just a guideline. It can be more or less than 10. I really don’t mind.
  3. Tag bloggers to join in the #RockingMotherhood Tag.
  4. Grab the #RockingMotherhood badge from here and add it to your post or sidebar.

I’m tagging:

Sara from Sassy Sara Smile

Naomi from Nomipalony

Charlie from Mess and Merlot

Clara (and fellow #bloggybride) from Utterly Feral

Finally another fellow #bloggybride, Lianne from Mrs Mummy Harris

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Why I am ‘Rocking Motherhood’: tag

  1. Ooh hello! I MUST do this now as Dawn at Rhyming With Wine tagged me too and I’ve been a very bad blogger recently. Great reasons why you are rockin motherhood, I’m not sure I can come up with ten – will have to get m thinking cap on! Hope all is well with the newlyweds 😉 xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

