EASY CHOCOLATE WALNUT BISCOTTI RECIPE

Rosy Mama Recipes: Chocolate & Walnut Biscotti

Rosy Mama Recipes

I have been meaning to bake Biscotti for potentially around 6 months now loving a baking session, but after Christmas there are so many sweet treats left over there is no need!) My amazing Momma-migo (U think that should most definitely be a word… am I right?!) bakes them in batches and always has a tin of Biscotti at the ready for tea dunking. Her little man loves them and mine dives straight in whenever they are on offer, so I thought I’d give them a go. Now this Biscotti recipe is a twist on the Mary Berry one I have just added different ingredients to suit my personal taste; to be honest though they are so versatile you can chuck anything you want in there! I chose Chocolate and Walnut for the filing of my Biscotti and here is how the magic happened… 

EASY CHOCOLATE WALNUT BISCOTTI RECIPE

Ingredients:

  • 250g Plain flour
  • 250g Caster sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3 medium eggs, beaten
  • 100g Walnuts (roughly chopped)
  • 100g Chocolate (I used milk chunks but if dark chocolate takes your fancy use that if you so wish)

EASY CHOCOLATE WALNUT BISCOTTI RECIPE

Now bear in mind I had never made these before an found them super easy peasy.

Preheat ones oven to 170c or Gas Mark 4 before mixing the dry ingredients together (Flour, Sugar and baking powder) in a large bowl. Slowly add the beaten eggs until it forms a dough (Now I just point out that I did need to add a little more flour gradually until the dough was firm enough to roll)

Add your extras, so walnuts and chocolate for me; other ideas could be hazelnut and orange zest or almonds and glacier cherries. The options are endless!

Sprinkle some lour on a worktop and gently knead the dough before dividing in half.

EASY CHOCOLATE WALNUT BISCOTTI RECIPE

Shape and roll each half into a sort of log that is around the length of a 30cm ruler.

Pop each log on a greased baking tray (or use a baking sheet… I didn’t have one to hand so just greased it) Make sure that each log is spaced from the other to allow for slight expansion.

Then… to the oven! For around 25 minutes until golden on top and firm enough to be sliced when cooled.

EASY CHOCOLATE WALNUT BISCOTTI RECIPE

Once cooled transfer the logs to a chopping board and slice each one into biscotti a few cm’s thick on the diagonal.

EASY CHOCOLATE WALNUT BISCOTTI RECIPE

The slices themselves then need to be browned off in the oven again so place them onto the baking tray or trays to brown on each side (this should take around 7 minutes on each side but for some reason my gas oven did take a little longer)

EASY CHOCOLATE WALNUT BISCOTTI RECIPE

EASY CHOCOLATE WALNUT BISCOTTI RECIPE

Then voila!!! Perfectly crunchy, gorgeous Biscotti that you can indulge in with your afternoon chill time with tea!

Do you love baking? Have you tried out my other Rosy Mama Recipes including my Foolproof Cupcake Recipe, Basic Victoria Sponge Recipe or Basic Sweet Shortbread?

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

4 thoughts on “Rosy Mama Recipes: Chocolate & Walnut Biscotti

  1. Oh my goodness, this is surely the best recipe I have seen for a long time! I can see myself (right now) with a cuppa and one of these. I just hope they come out as good! And yes momma migo is a wonderful word and sums up my mum too!

    Mainy x

    Finding you today through #brillblogposts and very pleased too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

