Rockin’ around this Mamas tree; Christmas songs: Love them or loathe them?

Musings

As you can clearly see from my, verging on spammy, Instagram feed I love a bit of the ol’ Christmas spirit. No scrooges or grinches permitted near this Mama’s household thank you very much! Needless to say that music is a huge part of Christmas for me; I have a deep love for music. Wether you love them or loathe them, Christmas songs are a massive part of getting in to the spirit of the season and, like it or not, cannot be avoided the further into December you get.Christmas-songs-love-them-or-hate-them

We have a tradition in our family than goes back generations on my Mamas side; to this day my Nana will invite us all round to have a stir of the Christmas pudding mix and make a wish. And to serenade us on this annual wish making over spiced currants and a hell of a lot of alcohol fumes… the soothing yule tide tones of Sir Cliff. This marks the start of Christmas for me.

I know there are a fair few questionable songs produced at this time of year (Sir Cliff unfortunately has laid claim to a few cringe worthy numbers, and I hear cue Cruz Beckham has just released on… questionable…) but you’ve got to love the classics.

I also know that the incessant, jolly Christmas music that is played in most supermarkets and shops can be rather irritating while you are trying to concentrate on which avocado is ripe enough or which shampoo is best for your hair type. But surely on the other hand you could see it as a way of lightening up your shopping experience? Taking the stress it of it all as you get lost in the jingly bells of Santa and his sleigh.

The covers of Christmas songs year upon year also do tend to rile the general public a substantial amount, but again I think it is purely because those songs are so loved.

My partner is in a rock covers band and this time of year I can always hear the faint strumming of Christmassy chords and melodies that will eventually result (given the addition of a drummer, bassist and singer!) in a rocked up version of such festive faves and crowdpleasers as ‘Rockin’ around the Christmas Tree’, ‘Santa Claus is coming to Town’ and ‘Merry Christmas Everybody’. A jolly, cosy pub environment, a glass of my chosen tipple of the night in one hand and as slight head bop (… I don’t dance unless quite hammered…) to these bad boys being played live will FO SHO get one in the spirit of ol’ Saint Nick!

So how soon are Christmas songs really acceptable?

When the festive season starts to creep in, the air becomes that little bit more crisp and you can see a glimmer of slowly spreading lights through living room windows, I ponder on how soon I can get away with slyly weaving Christmas songs through my iTunes playlist. The answer is immediately of course! If your feeling the festive jive then let it take you; body and soul.

I thought I would end this musing with sharing my favourite Christmas songs that you should definitely go forth and listen to. Imminently.

For your festive listening pleasure…

1. A Spaceman came Travelling – Chris de Burgh 

– don’t ask… it was on a Christmas mix CD when I was younger and I grew attached to the hard hitting chorus… its so epic! Makes you want to fistpump the air… every time.

2. Merry Christmas Everybody – Slade

3. Happy Xmas (War Is Over) – John Lennon

– I am a massive Beatles fan and this is just a beaut of a Christmas song. All the feels.

4. Do they Know it’s Christmas –  Band Aid

– No words… super emotional and so important.

“Put your arms around the world at Christmastime”

5. Christmas Wrapping – The Waitresses

– This has been me a fair few years in the past… I love the simplicity, and trumpets Warning: super catchy… beware!

Enjoy!

What are your favourite Christmas songs to get you in the festive spirit or to reminisce of family Christmas’ gone by?!

Mummuddlingthrough

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

Mr and Mrs T Plus Three
16 thoughts on “Rockin’ around this Mamas tree; Christmas songs: Love them or loathe them?

  1. Ah so many to choose from! Fairytale of new york for memories of a good friend’s dad who played fiddle in an irish band – happy times. Mariah Carey for memories of being 18 and throwing myself around the dancefloor of some dodgy club / party. So many happy Chrimbo memories can be relived through these tunes…I’m with you 100%!
    Thanks for linking to #coolmumclub xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love A Winter’s Tale. I also have to sing along to Mistletoe and Wine! I am generally just a big fan of Christmas tunes. #brillblogposts

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m not such a fan of ‘pop’ style Christmas songs (think Mariah, Cliff, etc) but would happily listen to Frank Sinatra, Bing Crosby, Nat King Cole & the other oldies croon away the festive tunes all day long!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww thanks! ❤ You can get posts straight to your inbox if you click the follow button in the footer of any page on my site (Its a bit hidden… working on changing it!) Theres a + at the bottom of every page and if you click that it expands and bam… theres the follow button ❤

      Like

  4. Oh for me it’s Wham – Last Christmas. Reminded me of Christmases when I felt sorry for myself in my single years!!! My now husband still laughs about how emotional I get when I hear that song. The video is a classic with those 80s batwing jumpers though. Bring them back!! #coolmumclub

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awwwww no! To be fair i get emotional when any Christmas song is played as I look around me and am so super grateful for who I get to share the magic of Christmas with now! Total YES to the batwing jumpers… we should start a trend! Haha! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

