Recipe-basic-victoria-sponge-cake-mix-baking

Rosy Mama Recipes: Basic Victoria Sponge Cake

Rosy Mama Recipes

Cake! We all love a bit of cake right?! Well I know I certainly do! Us parent types work super hard whatever we do day to day and we deserve a little chill time with a steaming cup of our beverage of choice and a slab (note: slab… not slice) of a sweet treat. I am usually a glutton for shortbread and have shared my recipe for that here, but this week I fancied making a huge beast of a cake for the return of the small mans Nana the weekend just gone. She had been away for a few weeks and she had missed her little sunshine boy loads, so I thought I would make an event of her return and in true Marie Antoinette style ‘Let them eat cake.”If you like my Foolproof Cupcake recipe then you will love this; so here is my super easy peasy basic Victoria Sponge Cake recipe.

Recipe-basic-victoria-sponge-cake-mix-baking

Ingredients (This makes a totally tall ass cake so if you would prefer something smaller, halve the ingredients):

  • 350g Self Raising Flour
  • 350g Caster Sugar
  • 350g Softened Butter (I use Stork or any supermarket version of)
  • 4 eggs (I’ve always been a fan if ‘Happy Eggs’ personally)
  • Vanilla Essence
  • Raspberry Jam
  • Butter Icing ( You can use my recipe here or just partake in some Betty Crocker frosting love, which is vegan friendly too!)
  • Topping of choice (I went for coloured chocolate drops)
Recipe-basic-victoria-sponge-cake-mix-baking

Out come the awesome retro scales my friends…

Ok this is a super duper easy recipe so firstly, prep your oven and workspace by preheating your oven to Gas Mark 6 and greasing your tins ( I got mine from Lidl and am in love with them. I the never owned springform tins before so am in baking housewife heaven! Although minus the housewife part… if only) with butter.

Now this bit may be tricky (she jests) Seriously its so easy. Fling all of the dry ingredients together and mix until well combined, then go ahead and crack in all four eggs and a small pouring of the Vanilla Essence and mix again util combined. That is it!

Done!

Recipe-basic-victoria-sponge-cake-mix-baking

Pour into the two prepared cake tins and pop in the oven preferably on the same shelf so that they cook evenly and at the same rate.

As this is a tall cake it requires to be cooked for just under 1 hour until a knife comes away clean after insertion (If you have opted to use half of the ingredients for a smaller cake then I would check after 25 minutes)

Recipe-basic-victoria-sponge-cake-mix-baking

Let the cake halves cool until they can be removed from he mould and popped onto a surface for further cooling and cutting. Slice away the curved edge of the halves so that they will lie flat when combined.

Recipe-basic-victoria-sponge-cake-mix-baking

Now the fun begins. Spread your jam of choice, personally I recommend Raspberry jam of course, all over one of the halves and on the other half spread the butter icing or frosting. Then just pop them together! I would at this point grab a knife and run around the cake after you’ve sandwiched the two halves together to pick up the excess icing/frosting and jam.

Recipe-basic-victoria-sponge-cake-mix-baking

The topping of the cake is up to you, I was going to top with more frosting but ran out so I just used water icing and then sprinkled the coloured chocolate drops on top. A light dusting of icing sugar is good too if your going for the traditional look.

Recipe-basic-victoria-sponge-cake-mix-baking

You could just as easily fill and top with chocolate frosting if you’re a chocolate lover!

It went down a storm at the Nana/Sunshine Boy reunion and Im sure your family and friends will love it too! Simple yet scrumptiously effective.

Let me know what you think when you have a baking day with your little one!

Mr and Mrs T Plus Three
6 thoughts on “Rosy Mama Recipes: Basic Victoria Sponge Cake

  1. That looks so tasty! For some reason, I’ve never actually made a victoria sponge cake. Maybe it’s because I’m a bit of a chocaholic so always make chocolate cakes instead! I might have to branch out though, I could really eat a big slab of this. x #TheListLinky

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you lovely!!! Cuppa tea and cake… nothing beats it!! Haha thank you… we had an electric one and I always had a whistling one as a kid so felt the need to indulge! It matched our retro 50’s style kitchen ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

