Rosy Mama Recipes: Vegan Halloween Cupcakes, with Betty Crocker

Rosy Mama Recipes

So I have already shared my Rosy Mama Cupcake Recipe and my love of finding any excuse to bake, and as Halloween approached, along with an invitation to a special little ladies first Halloween party, I thought of no better occasion to rustle up some baking magic. Now there was a slight problem as the hosts are vegan and my cupcake recipe, is not. I did however find a perfect recipe that used lemon juice and baking powder as lifting agents instead of eggs and butter. I was extremely dubious as to how this baking experiment would turn out but they were absolutely delicious! I also added a little of my own decorating flair to make super spooky bats and cobwebs (I was particularly pleased with the take on the usual Butterfly Cake to create the bat wings!) And so we have my vegan Halloween Cupcakes (with a little help from Betty Crocker and her amazing vegan friendly frosting!)

Perfect for Halloween parties! Or just to enjoy by yourself with a big ol’ cuppa tea!

Halloween-cupcakes-vegan-recipe-betty-crocker

 

The cupcakes themselves are made using a recipe that I found on my amazing ‘Yummly’ App; If you don’t already use this I suggest downloading it immediately, its amazing. I have altered it slightly and used Self Raising Flour to help the mixture lift. The ingredients are also in cups which I hope you don’t mind; if you don’t have cups I just used a measuring jug that has cup measurements on instead.

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups Self Raising Flour

1 3/4 cups Caster Sugar

2 tsp Baking Powder

1/4 tsp Salt

1 1/2 cups Almond or Soy Milk

1/2 cup Vegetable Oil

1 tbsp Lemon Juice

2 tsp Vanilla Extract

Method: 

This recipe makes A LOT of cupcakes (around 24) so if you want two batches or have two 12 hole cupcake trays then that is ok; I would half the recipe if your only looking to bake around 12 cakes. Line your trays with cupcake cases and preheat your oven to Gas Mark 7; I believe this to be around 180 degrees on a standard oven.

Halloween-vegan-cupcake-recipe

So this  baking experiment was actually a lot simpler than I imagined. Firstly, just mix all of the dry ingredients into a large mixing bowl, then in a separate bowl whisk together all of the wet ingredients.

Make a small well in the centre of the dry ingredients and pour the wet ingredients in. I used a whisk to swiftly and vigorously blend all of the ingredients together to form a, runnier than usual, cupcake mixture.

Pour the mixture in to the cases pretty much to the top as this will give a great rise and enough head space to create the bat wings! And then simply pop into the preheated oven for 25 minutes.

Halloween-vegan-cupcake-recipe

Let the cupcakes cool completely before decorating.

Halloween-vegan-cupcake-recipe-bat-wings-cobweb

So once your cupcakes are cooled you can start creating those epic bat wings; firstly cut a circle in the tops of the cakes and remove the circles (slice the back of the circle so that it is flat and not pointed) Cut the circles in half to create two wings and put to one side.

Halloween-vegan-cupcake-recipe-bat-wings-cobweb

Now is the time to fill up those holes with frosting (wow… that sounds rude… Im going all Nigella on you now!) I was slightly concerned when I decided to go down the vegan road of baking as i am a frosting fanatic and surely butter is like the main ingredient right?! Well… little did I know that Betty Crocker tubs of frosting are totally vegan friendly! Amazing! the perfect excuse to use her spurious frosting goodness and not have to make my own!

Halloween-vegan-cupcake-recipe-bat-wings

So grab your piping bags or whatever you use and fill the holes with your frosting of choice, then place the wings rounded edge downwards on top of the frosting. I then used ASDA’s prepackaged black piping icing as it is also vegan (and I find you can never quite achieve a pure black icing when you use black food colouring) an piped bat wings on to the cake. Voila! Bats!

Halloween-vegan-cupcake-recipe-bat-wings

The cobwebs are considerably easier and I don’t think I need to really explain the method behind those!

fullsizerender_8

Please bake away and let me know what you think… I was super surprised by how scruffy these were even though they have no eggs or butter! Magic!

 

2 thoughts on “Rosy Mama Recipes: Vegan Halloween Cupcakes, with Betty Crocker

Leave a Reply

