5 Easy hacks to get that ‘I’m rocking Mamahood’ look without really trying

Top Rockin' Tips

As rockin’ Mamas we rarely have time to complete our pre baby ‘getting ready in the morning’ routine. However we most definitely deserve to feel awesome and to feel like we look fabulous. We are a busy bunch us Mommas and are all doing an epic job raising our wee bambinos; it goes without saying that sometimes life gets us down and we feel swamped by children. As the saying goes, if you look good you will undoubtedly feel good, so I have conjured a snappy lil list of easy hacks that I have found achieve that ‘I’m rocking Mamahood’ look, without really even trying too much!

how-to-rock-motherhood-easy-life-hacks-without-trying

1. Lipstick. My saviour in all ‘bleugh’ day situations. I personally am a massive fan of the Marylin Munroe look and like to carry a bright red with me everywhere, but I also love a good dark plum shade too.

2. Sunglasses. Covers those ‘Ive been up all night with a teething, sleep regressing child all night’ eyes fabulously! Ok I admit that in winter this is quite an impossibility, but Autumn still has that super bright sunlight so we can still get away with it for a little while! Opt regular glasses in winter months!

img_6597

img_6596

… the attached beverage links to a later point…

3. Find your ‘go to’, easy hairstyle. Everyone loves a good ‘Mum bun’ and I always don this style when I am in a rush but find that I am increasingly disliking the fact that everyone can see the hairband… anyone else have this gripe? Just me?

Honest Mum has a brilliant Vlog tutorial on how to rock a Mum bun which is the style I use when in a rush. I have massively curly, thick hair so I tend to straighten it when I have time (it takes a while!) So if i have done this the day before I can just refresh quick. I find pinning the sides back is an easy way to hide the ‘I just got ready in 10 minutes’ aura!

img_6099

4. Invest in a few statement pieces to wear out and about for both you and your bambino. I think this is vital; I am all for buying staple, easy clothing as we know children grow super fast and what is the point in paying mega bucks for something that they will just grow out of in a few months right?

An easy way to get that ‘cool kid’ is to invest in a few statement clothing items that will go with anything and make an outfit pop. My little man has at the moments an amazing pair of Mario Vans that were bought as a present for him at his last birthday party; they steal the show with whatever outfit he is wearing.

fullsizerender

fullsizerender_1

For me, I have just invested in a gorgeous NEXT coat (If you read my previous post on the reasons Autumn rocks you will have already seen it!) It is leopard print (were already on to a winner here) and just rocks any outfit!

5. Alcohol and ‘Chill’. Im not saying become an alcoholic, obviously. But it is super important to chill as a Mom. We rarely get time to relax but it is so necessary to retain sanity as parents. I find that a small beverage on the occasional evening, maybe accompanied by a bubbly bath and a good film does the trick; just takes the edge off you know? Sneak a little ‘me time’ while bubba is napping or once they have gone to bed! remember YOU.

img_6598

img_6599

This is what works for me, I am not saying that the above hacks will make you look like Kate Moss but you can at least feel like it! Mommas, you rock. We deserve to feel rockin’ too!

❤

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

Mummuddlingthrough
Admissions Of A Working Mother
28 thoughts on “5 Easy hacks to get that ‘I’m rocking Mamahood’ look without really trying

  1. Yes yes to sunglasses! I miss the summer. It’s so cloudy now I can no longer get away with it … I loved being able to just shove on a pair of sunglasses and not worry about my horrific undereye bags! x #brillblogposts

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh I LOVE an excuse to hide my eye-bags with shades and wear them even on freezing cold days (when it’s sunny, obviously otherwise I’d just look hungover) 🙂 Must check out Honest Mum’s vlog as I can never seem to master a nice ‘messy bun’ . Thanks x #BrillBlogPosts

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love tips to help me look less like an exhausted mom! My kiddos are older and I can tell they appreciate the days when I put on something nice. Being a working mom also means I don’t get to just wear whatever every day, so I actually enjoy the days I can just “mom bun” my hair and leave on my comfy clothes. Thanks for sharing your tips!
    #StayClassyMama

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No worries! I work too so yes it is really nice to actually wear something other than just my uniform on days off!! I tend to have to ‘mum bun’ it to work as otherwise id be really irritated with it in my face all the time! (it quite a labour intensive job!) I look better on my days off than I do at work weirdly! ❤

      Like

  4. I totally agree with the key wardrobe pieces bit…avoid the generic to feel, well, y’know, less generic! My current fave is my oversized military jacket. Always makes me feel super cool 🙂
    Thanks for linking up to #coolmumclub

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m very lucky that my hair is naturally wavy so I can wash it and just leave it down, but ben has found my hair recently so a side plait is the new norm. I agree on the lipstick. Tinted lipbalm, eyebrow pencil and mascara are my minimum before I leave the house to feel good. #coolmumclub

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooooh yes! I have oddly frizzy/curly hair naturally which just doesn’t dry right unless I sped a while putting a lot of product effort in! Oooh yes eyebrow pencil… forgot about that one! My normal routine is foundation, eyebrow pencil, eyeliner, mascara and lippy. Done! ❤

      Like

  6. I am totally with you on the mum bun and the lipstick! I feel so much better when I look better, I know I probably shouldn’t but we just do, it is fact! Awesome post! #stayclassymama

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awwww no you definitely SHOULD!!! It is known fact that women feel better when they look better…it is in no way superficial… Mommas bodies go through a lot and we have a lot on our plate to worry about ourselves but we deserve to feel fabulous!! ❤

      Like

  7. Great ideas here! I’ve never mastered red lippy (more like a red smear across my cheek!) but absolutely agree on the sunglasses hiding a multitude of sins (like maybe last night’s g & t ?!). Visiting from #brilliantblogposts

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

