‘Let it go moments’: a weekly roundup #letitgomoments 4

#letitgomoments

So this week has seen every single on of the household ill at some point and have been busy bees with appointments left right and centre for dentists, doctors, health visitors etc… but on the plus side me and the Mr have now got a luscious whole week off together and are off to Manchester tomorrow for a mini break. Bliss.

So the reasons for my #letitgomoments this week go back to the plagued household thing firstly; originally it was me and the little man which had colds that resulted in terrible coughs, and then the bigger man caught it. But of course his is not just a cold… oh no… it is the dreaded ‘man flu’.

1. There has been much debate over the past about wether or not men actually DO get a different strain of virus to women that can be labelled as ‘man flu’ but I am a firm believer in the fact that that is pure bollocks! Men these days do need to just man up! Ladies Im sure you will agree that we get runny noses, headaches, coughs, a general feeling of shitness a lot of the time and have to function day to day and simply ‘get over it’. Men, however seem to be the classic ‘ill person’ when they get a slight sniffle. I find myself having very little sympathy unless they have lost a limb!

I have come to realise that in some way maybe they just want a little attention and actually it could come in very handy for future times when I find myself ill and can recollect my sympathy and request the same treatment in return. I don’t stand wallowing in illness, I draw the line there, but I have learnt to let it go when my other half gets all forlorn and claims a desperate need to Olbas Oil, soup and creates a sea of tissues around him.

2. As mentioned earlier I have had multiple appointments with the little man this week, including seeing the dentist, routine flu vaccines, hearing tests and speech and language therapy. The small prince was noted for being a little delayed with his speech and communication when having his 2 year health check and as his other abilities are actually exceeding his age group they flagged this as a possible indication of a long term issue. I know that this is in line with the early signs of Autism so we are attending speech and language therapy to support him as much as we can.

My gripe with this and the reason for my biggest ‘let it go moment’ is that I am a worrier at heart, I worry for the people around me and those I care about, and after his 2 year check I am now worried about my gorgeous small man. No parent want to think that their child is anything less than perfect and I have to admit I panicked when I realised that he wasn’t developing speech at the same level as his peers and saw the tell tale signs of ASD creeping in; but I have had to let a wave of calm wash over me in this area of our lives.

I realise that there is absolutely nothing ‘wrong’ with my amazing little man and that he is incredibly intelligent, there is no denying that! I am constantly told of his nursery amazement that he can complete tasks and do things at an ability way beyond his age group. His speech will get there in time and if he needs a bit of an extra support in this area then I welcome that support! Children learn at different paces in all areas of their development… so I have let it go.

Share your fellow  mama ‘Let it go Moments’ on here, Twitter or Instagram using the hashtag #letitgomoments

Diary of an imperfect mum

6 thoughts on “‘Let it go moments’: a weekly roundup #letitgomoments 4

    1. They are super stressful! Im at 25 and still neither Mama or Dada… soon much babbling though so hopefully he’ll just spurt out sentences one day and there won’t be any stopping him! Speech and language therapies a step in the right direction though… however hunting it may be ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Those check ups drive me mad and you are spot on children do develop at different rates so let it go! My son does have special needs but he has surpassed all expectations anyway! You are the expert when it comes to your child, follow your gut! Thank you for linking up to #ablogginggoodtime 🎉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww thats amazing! My little man surpasses a lot of the ‘key stages’ its just the communication but he’s clearly very intelligent so Im sure he’ll get there… he’s so vocal so its not like he doesn’t want to! Just needs some extra support bless him ❤ i think there is a lot of pressure on moms when it comes to check ups etc… 'let it go' indeed ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

