Foolproof-Cupcake-Recipe

Rosy Mama Recipes: Foolproof cupcakes

Rosy Mama Recipes

I have always been a lover of baking, that is not to say that i could actually bake myself, quite the opposite. I was a terrible baker in the past, despite my purchasing of plentiful baking cookbooks and special silicone baking utensils. It was not until I became a mama that I weirdly became much more adept at cake-making, it was like some ‘mama instinct’ switch had suddenly turned on and I transformed into Martha Stewart whenever I came near a mixing bowl and a wooden spoon! People who I bake for now don’t believe me when I say I used to be awful, they think I’m being modest! So anyway, my favourite thing to bake is by far cupcakes; so super versatile for any occasion. This recipe is my favourite as it works every time without fail. Foolproof cupcake recipe.

Foolproof-Cupcake-Recipe

 

Ingredients (makes 8-10 high rise cupcakes):

Cake mixture:

  • 175g (6oz) Self raising Flour
  • 175g (6oz) Caster Sugar
  • 175g (6oz) Softened Butter (I use Stork or any supermarket version of)
  • 3 eggs (Im a Happy Egg fan but go with your fave!)
  • A drop of Vanilla Essence

Butter Icing (optional of course):

  • 100g (3.5oz) Softened Butter
  • 200g (7oz) Icing Sugar

 

fullsizerender

Set of rockin’ retro scales obligatory of course…

 

Ok… down to it then. Firstly preheat your oven to 200 degrees celsius/Gas Mark 6 (If your oven isn’t like mine and needs a bit of extra heat then maybe go with 180)

Now I know most recipes call for dry/wet ingredients to be added at different points, but honestly I found the best way is just to weigh all of the weighed ingredients (flour, sugar and butter) and give them a stir until it becomes a lumpy mixture and all of the butter integrated. At this point I get the small man involved in the stirring, whilst trying to prevent him prematurely eating the contents of the bowl! He also loves to put the cases in place, thinks it a game, bless; super helpful though!

Baking-with-kids-cupcake-recipe

Awesome dreamcatcher leggings by Buffalo & Bear.

 

When comes the egg cracking, don’t be shy by doing the whole one at a time thing, just pop them all in at once (also add the vanilla essence at this point) and whisk away until it forms a smooth batter. The key is not to mix too much as then you lose the air that makes them all fluffy and delicious.

foolproof-cupcake-recipe

 

Now I don’t know about you but I like my cupcakes to rise above the cases; most recipes I find say they make a lot and then when they come out of the oven are really pathetically small! The more cake the better right!? Surely. So I popped my batter into 8 cases but you could easily fill 10 as actually some did spill over slightly!

I pop these in the oven for around 15-20 minutes; I have a gas oven so I find it takes longer for things to cook but if you don’t know your oven temperatures well then make sure you keep checking them after around 10 minutes just to be safe! They should be golden on top and a knife should come out clean after inserted into the middle.

Foolproof-cupcake-recipe

… note the cheeky flamingo making an appearance…

 

 

The cooling period is the best time to commence mixing up the icing. Ive gone for a traditional butter icing but you can always use water icing or just leave them plain. I found the best ratio is double the amount of icing sugar to butter (I have used Stork though so this may vary if you are using anything else – just experiment by adding the icing sugar in gradually) and the amounts I’ve used were perfect for 8 cupcakes. You can also add food colouring or cocoa powder to jazz the icing up a bit but totally up to you.

foolproof-cupcake-recipe

 

Now the frosting part is the fun bit! Please wait until your cupcakes are fully cooled before frosting otherwise the icing will just melt. Im a fan of the traditional style of frosting shown above but I have also been known to go a bit rustic and just slap it on before adding sprinkles etc for a shabby chic look. I tend to have a need to decorate as I find it really fun but you don’t have to; this time I went for a simple half truffle on top of each but in the past I have popped on crumbled chocolate or sprinkles/chocolate chips etc. Below are a few examples of my Instagram-ed finished articles!

foolproof-cupcake-recipe

St-Patricks-Day-Foolproof-Cupcake-Recipe

These green beauties were made for a St Patricks Day Party.

Foolproof-Cupcake-Recipe

 

So there you have it… the first of my ‘Rosy Mama Recipes’ series. The ‘Foolproof Cupcake Recipe’. It has served me well.

 

 

Diary of an imperfect mum

 

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Rosy Mama Recipes: Foolproof cupcakes

  1. Yummy! Love baking with the kids and this simple recipe looks easy enough for my 10 year old to do herself, with a little ‘help’ from her little brother and sister!! #ablogginggoodtime

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

